This is, a form of classification which has been included because of
its traditional (general) importance. It is a useful tool in determining magical uses.

Here is a quick list:

Sun: Legal Matters, Healing, Protection
Moon: Sleep, Prophetic Dreams, Fertility, Peace, Healing
Mercury: Mental Powers, Divination, Psychic Powers, Wisdom
Venus: Love, Friendship, Fidelity, Beauty, Youth
Mars: Courage, Strength, Lust, Sexual Potency, Exorcism, HexBreaking, Protection
Jupiter: Money, Prosperity, Legal Matters, Luck
Saturn: Visions, Longevity, Exorcisms, Endings

The ruling element follows, where known. The theory of the four elements,
the building blocks of the universe (another method of dividing up the
power), is explained more fully in Earth Power. However, in brief, four elements
(Earth, Air, Fire, and Water) are within all things in varying amounts.
This includes herbs. Each, naturally, has its own use in magic:

Earth: Money, Prosperity, Fertility, Healing, Employment
Air: Mental Powers, Visions, Psychic Powers, Wisdom
Fire: Lust, Courage, Strength, Exorcism, Protection, Health
Water: Sleep, Meditation, Purification, Prophetic Dreams, Healing, Love, Friendships, Fidelity

Since many plants have been associated with divinities through the centuries, deities specifically connected with the plant are listed, if any. This provides yet another clue to the plant's use in magic, for each divinity has one or more
influences attributed to them. For example Venus, as a Goddess of love, is a well-known example; herbs sacred to the Goddess Venus may be used in love spells.